Jaguar Relaunches Limited Series Of Classic

Thu 28th Jan 2021

Fans of British motor racing from the 1950s could take a step back in time after Jaguar’s ‘Classic’ team announced that they would be producing a limited series of the C-Type.

The legendary sports race is celebrating its 70th anniversary and those with deep pockets will get the opportunity to own one of eight factory-built examples of the ultimate 1953 Le Mans 24 Hours winning C-types.

The original C-type was originally built between 1951 and 1953 and famously won Le Mans twice during that period. It’s distinctive cigar-shaped, aerodynamic design made it a favourite amongst motor racing enthusiasts. The 1952 C-Type was famous due to its innovative disc brake technology and became the first disc-braked car to win a Grand Prix when Stirling Moss steered it to victory at Reims in France.

There were 53 Jaguar C-Types produced in the 1950s, and Jaguar Classic will build eight further models for owners by 2022. Jaguar Classic have previously relaunched the lightweight E-Type, XKSS and D-Type for nostalgic motoring collectors.

“Driven by some of the most-admired racing drivers in history, the C-type laid the foundations for Jaguar’s success in endurance racing and is synonymous with design and engineering innovation,” said Classic Jaguar director, Dan Pink  

“Seventy years on, Jaguar Classic is proud to be able to utilise the latest innovations in manufacturing technology – alongside traditional skills and unrivalled expertise – to reintroduce this legendary car for a new generation of enthusiasts to enjoy.”